Top Banner Graphic
New Jersey Earth Science Teachers Association

Outstanding Earth Science Teacher Award Winers

NJESTA wishes to recognize dedicated teachers who have made exemplary contributions to the field of Earth Science Education.  The award is presented annually at the NJESTA Annual Conference held in March where the recipient is awarded a plaque.  Please take time to nominate someone (or perhaps yourself) that has made a difference in any or all the following criteria.

            1.  Demonstrated exemplary Earth Science teaching
            2.  Effective use of Earth Science printed and technological materials
            3.  Developed novel teacher plans and ideas
            4.  Published in the field of Earth Science
            5.  Promoted school or community events in Earth Science

Judges have the right to present the award only when the criteria have been satisfied.

2006 Nancy Dickinson Ridgewood MS
2005 Lou Zappo Central MS
2004 Jill Guenther Vineland HS
2003 Kathy Flormann Woodbridge HS
2002 Douglas Frost Cherokee HS North
2001 Raymond Kucklinca Moorestown HS
2000 Doug Blanchard Shore Regional HS
1999 Paul Ransavage Hunterdon HS
1997 Nancy Miller Hackettstown HS
1996 Richard Lees Lyndhurst HS
1995 Nancy Cordts Morris Knolls HS
1994 Edward Colangelo Chatham HS
1993 Edward Greaney Hunterdon Central HS
1992 Gregory Boyle St. Peter's Prep HS
1991 Al Wagonhoffer Pequannock Valley MS
1990 Donald Patterson Benjamin Franklin MS
1989 Deborah Scheinberg Cherokee HS

Special Awards - Longevity Awards

Years of Service
Barbara-Jo Kruzcek 36 years Hillsborough HS
Ed Shattuck 33 Years Toms River HS South

Resource Development Awards

Mrs. Claude Larson
Ogdensburg Elementary School

Presidental Awards

Greg Boyle March 2006
Don Patterson March 2006
Dr. Charles Murphy March 2005
Marc Rogoff March 2004
Mark Schoengold March 2003
Edward Colangelo October 2001
Richards Lees October 2001
Doris White October 2000
Glen Wolfrom October 2000
Nan Brown October 1999
Elmer Dey October 1999
Neil Wintringham March 1993
Lee Myerson November 1991
Donal Peck March 1989
Paul Rockman March 1989

Outstanding Earth Science Students

Teachers are asked to nominate their best Earth Science students, and NJESTA will provide a certificate of recognition.  As a guide, any student who has a "B" average or better, exhibits an interest in Earth Science and demonstrates the willingness to go beyond the normal curriculum expectations is eligible.  The NJESTA Awards committee should receive the information concerning the selection of the student by May 1st each year.  Only one student may be selected per school.  This information should include the name of the student, the basis for his/her selection, and the name of the principal of the school.  Confirmation from NJESTA, along with a certificate will be sent by the end of May and an announcement of the winners cab be made after that date.  It is hoped that the award recipient will receive some recognition at the school.

2002 - 2003 School Year
Susan Twiddle Howell HS
Barbara-Jo Kruzcek Hillsborough HS
Louis Zappo Central MS, Parsippany
Christine Girtain Toms River HS South
Carol Sorensen Glenfield MS, Montclair
Mark Worobetz Sparta HS
Elwood Boone Chatham MS

(Forward any inquiries about these awards to Missy Holzer, NJSTA Awards Chair.)